top of page

When do I know I am an Author?

My name is Robert Benjamin Mccrabb. I am forty three years old, I have two divorces under my belt and I am currently married to a beautiful Philippina named angelyn. I have one step son with my present wife and four wonderful children from my previous marriages. I have not seen my four children in four years because of the nastiness of the divorces. I am a devout Catholic and I always pray to be reunited with my chidlren.

About four years ago, I started writing. I have written four Manuscripts at this time. I have gone through all the publishing hoop laa. At first I self published but then I started looking fora publishing deal and an agent. I sent off over a hundred queries and got rejection to all of them. I grew pretty discouraged.

At this time I am writing full time and have just started my fifth manuscript. I have written mainly about my life but I have also written fiction. I write what I know and I base my characters off of my life experiences. I put a lot of myself into my books.

Lately I have been wondering. When can I call myself an author. I may write full time but does that make me an "Author"? I have four finished manuscripts but they have not been picked up by any agent or serious publisher? Does this mean I do not have the right to call myself an "Author"?

What constitutes one being able to take the title of "Author"? I have thought long and hard about this and I have decided that I am an Author. I may never sell one book, I may never make the New York times bestseller list. I may never reach a wider Audience in any way. But still in spite of all these things, I am an Author.

That is what I have decided. And so now when I meet someone and they ask me what I do for a living, I tell them I am an Author. I do not feel any apprehension about this. I intend to continue writing until I have nothing left to say and I am always trying to improve my craft. I hope and pray that my books will eventually reach their intended audiences but in the meantime, I am content in my chosen profession. Let me know what you think about all of this. Thanks for listening.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page